Twelve Humboldt State Softball Student-Athletes Named 2020-21 Easton/NFCA Scholar-Athletes

September 16, 2021

Twelve members of the 2020-21 Humboldt State softball team were named 2020-21 National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Scholar-Athletes. These twelve are Morgan Brant, Katelyn Dendas, Megan Escobar, Mikey Gonzales, Gaige Garcia, Danica Grier, Alyssa Ramirez, Sarah Salinas, Vanessa Saltos, Izzy Starr, Haley Suter and Hollee Travao.

 “I'm very proud of these twelve ladies for their hard work in the classroom last spring,” said head softball coach Shelli Sarchett.  “They did an impressive job of navigating the COVID-impacted semester, both on and off the field.”

 To be named an Easton/NFCA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete has to have at least a 3.50 cumulative grade point average during the 2018-19 academic year and be a member of the softball team.

 This past spring, Starr was named to the 2021 CoSIDA Academic All-District Softball Team. She also was one of 12 softball student-athletes that were named to the CCAA All-Academic Team.  Eight HSU softball student-athletes were named to the 2021 CCAA Spring All-Academic Team while six received D2ADA Academic Achievement Honors. 

 For the second consecutive semester, the Lumberjacks posted their highest term grade point average with four student-athletes having a 3.85 grade point average or higher and eight have between a 3.50 -3.84.

 The Lumberjacks will have six dates this fall that they will have scrimmages started with October 2 against Southwest Oregon Community College.  That weekend, HSU will also host Menlo College.  The following weekend, HSU will have its Annual Alumni Game on October 9 and Pay To Play Game on October 10. The ‘Jacks will conclude their fall season on October 16 against Mendocino College.  All of the scrimmages are scheduled to begin at noon at HSU’s Softball Field.





Announcement Approvals: