March 7, 2016

Dear University Community,

Honoring outstanding faculty is a tradition at Humboldt State that dates back to 1964. Please join me in congratulating this year’s recipients of the Distinguished Faculty awards:

Professor Alexandru Mihai Tomescu, Department of Biological Sciences, Outstanding Professor Award recipient, combines his teaching and scholarly activities to benefit the University community. As the professor of several Botany and Biology courses, Mihai is praised for his ability to present clear and engaging lectures, while successfully integrating his research into his teaching. Students praise his dynamic and thought-provoking lectures. At the same time, Mihai has led productive research into the evolution and morphology of early land plants. As the author of more than 45 peer-reviewed publications, Mihai has included his undergraduate and graduate students as co-authors on more than 30 papers. Humboldt State is fortunate to have such a gifted educator.

Professor Noah Zerbe, Department of Politics, Outstanding Service Award recipient, has had a meaningful impact on the University community. Known as a thoughtful and conscientious leader by colleagues, Noah was instrumental in the creation of the Strategic Plan. As co-chair of the planning process, he led planning groups and later compiled recommendations from disparate groups into one coherent and consistent document. He was also involved in the 2011 transition of the Academic Senate to a University Senate and was later elected Senate Chair. Noah has made, and will continue to make, a lasting contribution to Humboldt State.

Lecturer Loren Cannon, Department of Philosophy, Excellence in Teaching Award recipient, excels as a teacher, scholar, and advocate. Loren, who is currently teaching Environmental Ethics, teaches five courses each semester. Colleagues say he has the ability to engage in interdisciplinary collaboration with faculty in the School of Business and the Department of Critical Race, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. And students see Loren as an enthusiastic, engaging and inclusive educator. Loren is also a tireless advocate for trans* people. He raised the visibility of trans* students on campus, and helped Humboldt County become the only rural county in California to provide trans-inclusive health care through a community clinic. Loren’s passion for his students and dedication to social justice make him a valued lecturer.

Mihai, Noah, and Loren—along with recipients of the Distinguished Alumni, Outstanding Students, and Staff Recognition awards—will be honored at the annual Honors Dinner on April 22.

The University community will also have the opportunity to attend lectures given by faculty award recipients. The lectures will be scheduled throughout the 2016-17 academic year.

I also want to recognize the 2016 McCrone Promising Faculty Scholars Award recipients, who will be honored at the annual Alistair and Judith McCrone Awards Banquet on April 28:

  • Jeffrey Kane, Department of Forestry & Wildland Resources
  • Meredith Williams, Department of Sociology
  • Tim Bean, Department of Wildlife
  • Alexander Bippus (Alistair & Judith McCrone Graduate Fellow)

Again, congratulations to all the recipients!  

With best wishes,

Lisa A. Rossbacher, Ph.D.

Announcement Approvals: