McCrone Award-Winning Faculty, Student Honored for Research Excellence

March 6, 2019

Humboldt State University faculty members Environmental Science & Management Professor Kerry Byrne; Biology Professor John Steele; Forestry Professor Lucy Kerhoulas have been selected as recipients of the 2019 McCrone Promising Faculty Scholars Award. Selected for exhibiting exceptional potential in their field, each faculty member will receive $1,500 to assist in their program of creative activity, scholarship, or research.

In addition, Christopher Ramponi, graduate student in English, won the Alistair and Judith McCrone Graduate Fellowship Award in the amount of $3,000, which is given to a graduate student who has demonstrated strong potential in their field.

These awards honor past HSU President Alistair McCrone and recognize the accomplishments of HSU's excellent newer faculty members and outstanding student researchers. The awards will be presented at a reception held on Thursday, April 18th 2019 from 4:00-6:00pm in the Great Hall of College Creek. Recipients will present a short presentation of their research during the reception, which is open to the campus and community.

To read more about the winners, click here.