October 3, 2018	
TO:	HSU Faculty, Staff and Students
FROM:	Faculty Awards Committee (Co-Chairs: Provost Alex Enyedi & Professor Robert Zoellner; Whitney Ogle; Eugene Novotney; Alexandru Tomescu; Student Representative: TBD)
SUBJECT:	Nominations for 2018/2019 Distinguished Faculty Awards

On behalf of the HSU University Senate, the Faculty Awards Committee is pleased to announce the solicitation of nominations for the following faculty awards:

- Excellence in Teaching Award– Lecturer
- Excellence in Teaching Award– Tenure-line faculty
- Scholar of the Year
- Outstanding Service Award
- Outstanding Professor Award

We encourage you to nominate eligible faculty by submitting a letter of nomination summarizing the nominee's outstanding qualities along with the required supporting evidence provided by the nominee, as detailed here: http://www2.humboldt.edu/aavp/FacultyAwards. Faculty may also nominate themselves. The letter of nomination and supporting evidence are to be sent *electronically* via email to <u>senate@humboldt.edu</u> by January 16, 2019. If you need assistance with submitting your nomination, please contact the University Senate office (ext. 3657 or GH 101).

Nominees must meet the eligibility criteria specified for the award for which they are nominated as detailed here: <u>http://www2.humboldt.edu/aavp/NominationGuidelines</u>. Because putting together an effective nomination dossier places a certain burden on the nominee, *please be sure to notify the nominee well in advance of the deadline*. If possible, nominators should share the responsibility of gathering letters from students, colleagues, etc. in support of the nomination.

Based on the nomination letter and other supporting evidence, the Faculty Awards Committee will select the nominees whose contributions reflect superiority with regard to the criteria set forth by the HSU University Senate. The Committee's decisions will be forwarded to the University Senate for its consideration at the Senate meeting of <u>March 5, 2019</u> and then forwarded to the President for conferral of awards. If you have questions, please contact the University Senate office (ext. 3657 or GH 101).